Red Hat® Certified Specialist in Edge Computing and Networking Exam


Red Hat® Certified Specialist in Edge Computing and Networking Exam

The Red Hat® Certified Engineer (RHCE®) in Red Hat® OpenStack® exam (EX310) tests your ability to configure advanced networking in a director-based Red Hat® OpenStack® environment.

By passing this exam, you become a Red Hat® Certified Specialist, which also counts toward becoming a Red Hat® Certified Architect (RHCA®).

This exam is based on Red Hat® OpenStack® version 10.

What You Need to Know


Red Hat® encourages all candidates for the Red Hat® Certified Engineer (RHCE®) in Red Hat® OpenStack® exam to consider taking Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration I (CL110), Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration II (CL210), and Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration III: Networking & Foundations of NFV (CL310) to help prepare. Attendance in these classes is not required; students can choose to take just the exam.

While attending Red Hat® classes can be an important part of one''s preparation to take this exam, attending class does not guarantee success on the exam. Previous experience, practice, and native aptitude are also important determinants of success.

Many books and other resources on system administration for Red Hat®''s products are available. Red Hat® does not officially endorse any as preparation guides for its exam. Nevertheless, you may find additional reading deepens understanding and can prove helpful.

Exam Format

This exam is a performance-based evaluation of Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® OpenStack® Platform 10 administration skills and knowledge. You perform a number of routine administration and configuration tasks and are evaluated on whether they have met specific objective criteria.

Performance-based testing means that you must perform tasks similar to what you perform on the job.

This is a single-section exam lasting 3 hours.

Scores and Reporting

Official scores for exams come exclusively from Red Hat® Certification Central. Red Hat® does not authorize examiners or training partners to report results to candidates directly. Scores on the exam are usually reported within 3 US business days.

Exam results are reported as total scores. Red Hat® does not report performance on individual items, nor will it provide additional information upon request.

These audiences may be interested in becoming an RHCE® in Red Hat® OpenStack®:

  • Experienced OpenStack® system administrators responsible for the planning or deployment of Red Hat® OpenStack®
  • Experienced OpenStack® system administrators who want to demonstrate their capability in network functions virtualization (NFV)
  • An RHCSA® in Red Hat® OpenStack® interested in earning an RHCE® in Red Hat® OpenStack® credential
  • An RHCE® interested in earning a Red Hat® Certified Specialist or RHCSA® credential


  • Red Hat® Certified Engineer (RHCE®) or demonstrate equivalent knowledge
  • Red Hat® Certified Systems Administrator (RHCSA®) in Red Hat® OpenStack® or demonstrate equivalent knowledge

Recommended Next Exam or Course:

  • Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration I (CL110)
  • Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration II (CL210)
  • Red Hat® OpenStack® Administration III: Networking & Foundations of NFV (CL310)

Study points for the exam

Red Hat® recommends that you earn both RHCSA® and RHCSA® in Red Hat® OpenStack® credentials before attempting this exam, but it is not required. Note that to earn the RHCE® in Red Hat® OpenStack® credential, you must be an RHCSA® in Red Hat® OpenStack® and also pass the RHCE® in Red Hat® OpenStack® exam. While it is possible to take these exams out of sequence, Red Hat® strongly recommends earning the RHCSA® in Red Hat® OpenStack® credential first.

To help you prepare, the exam objectives highlight the task areas you can expect to see covered in the exam. 

Red Hat® reserves the right to add, modify, and remove exam objectives. Such changes will be made public in advance.

  • Create and work with virtual devices
    • Implement and manage Linux bridges
    • Implement and manage OpenvSwitch bridges
    • Implement and manage libVirt bridges
  • Manage OpenStack® networking agents
    • Provision tenant networks with DHCP agents
    • Enable the Load Balancer as a Service (LBAAS) and deploy instances using the LBAAS
    • Manage metadata agent
    • Manage metering agent
  • Deploy IPv6 networks in OpenStack®
    • Create a tenant network with IPv4 and IPv6
    • Attach an IPv6 floating IP to an instance
  • Provision OpenStack® networks
    • Implement network namespaces
    • Provision tenant networks using VXLAN, VLAN, and GRE
  • Implement distributed virtual routing (DVR)
    • Create a DVR router
    • Create instances that use the DVR router
  • Tune network functions virtualization (NFV) performance
    • Deploy EPA
    • Tune cloud applications
  • Implement NFV datapaths
    • Deploy OpenvSwitch Data Plane Development Kit (OVS-DPDK)
    • Configure Red Hat® OpenStack® Platform so that instances can use OVS-DPDK
    • Configure quality of service (QoS) limits
  • Build software-defined networks with OpenDaylight
    • Implement OpenDaylight
    • Manage networks with OpenDaylight


Red Hat® CL311


Whether you need assistance scheduling a class for yourself or for your group, GCA's Education Account Manager's will craft a customized training solution to meet the needs of your organization.